090 64 53600

School Principal
Mr. Garrett Buckley
Deputy Principal

Ms. Stacey Guinan


Gallen CS Ferbane held their annual Academic Awards Ceremony in the school on Friday 26th October. This ceremony is a focal point of the school calendar where academic excellence is celebrated and recognised. Guests for the evening were Mr Frank Kearns, Chairperson of the Board of Management, Mr Eamon Dooley and Mrs Mary Mc Loughlin
 BOM, Sr. Helena Egan representing the Cluny Sisters on the Board of Management, Ms Michelle Sugrue representing the Sugrue Family and Mrs Maree Egan, Chairperson Parents Council. Gallen CS was delighted to welcome its guests, staff, past and present students and their families on the night. After Mrs Finnegan, Deputy Principal welcomed everyone Mr John Irwin, Principal spoke of Gallen CS drive for academic excellence and referred to our school being a school of inclusivity and diversity, one which promotes a truly broad and balanced education which helps each student to fulfil their potential. It was then time to recognise those who achieved academic excellence in 2012.

FIRST YEAR WINNERS- with the criteria being best results in 7 subjects in Summer Tests 2012 went to Steve Ann Buckley and Emma Dolan [ Joint Winners in St Mel’s], Killian Egan [ St Patricks] and Laura Devery and Lorna Kelly [ Joint winners in St Brigids]. The winners received a beautiful book with personal citations. Mrs Maree Egan, Chairperson
of the Parents Council presented the awards.

 SECOND YEAR WINNERS- with the criteria being best results in 7 subjects at Higher Level in Summer Tests 2012. The award winners who received a beautiful book with citations were, John Corcoran and Tara Flynn [Joint winners in St Sarans], Roisin Egan [St Manchans] and Eimear Flynn [St Diarmuids]. Mrs Mary Mc Loughlin presented the

JUNIOR CERTIFICATE MERIT AWARDS- were awarded to Chloe Egan, Lauren Egan and Claire Egan for their diligence and hard work in class and with their studies over the last three years. They each achieved excellent Junior Certificate results and in recognition of this they were given an inscribed cross pen and a Certificate of achievement,  presented by Sr. Helena Egan and Mrs Ursula Finnegan.

MEDALLION AWARDS- This award goes to the boy and girl who achieved the best results in 10 subjects at Higher Level in the  Junior Certificate 2012 . This year  Celine Camon and Colin Kenny won the award for their outstanding success . Mr Frank Kearns and Mrs Ursula Finnegan presented the awards to Celine and Colin.

FIFTH YEAR WINNERS- best results in 6 subjects at higher level in Summer Tests 2012 went to Clare Ann Kearns [who provided us with a beautiful interlude of music before stepping forward to receive her award], Calm Rourke and Laura Dolan. Mrs Mary Mc Loughlin presented the awards.

CO OFFALY VEC GAELTACHT SCHOLARSHIP- award  based on  Irish Department
criteria  and this went to joint winners Lisa Kenny and Ellee Mc Evoy. Lisa went to Colaiste na Bhfian and Ellee to Colaiste Chamuis.Mr Eamon Dooley presented Lisa and Ellee with their awards on behalf of Co Offaly VEC.Mr Irwin also told the gathering that this week Ms Noreen Maloney , Head of  the Irish Department had  achieved  first  class honours for her
Master’s Thesis   where she used Project based work  in the class room .

CO OFFALY VEC EURO LANGUAGE SCHOLARSHIP- award based on French Department Criteria and this went to joint winners  Michael Egan and Clare Anne Kearns. Mr Eamon Dooley presented the awards to Michael and Clare Anne.

EXCELLENCE IN  HOME ECONOMICS-  based on  results in Leaving Certificate  2012 went to  Maria Spain and the award was presented by Mrs Ursula Finnegan. Maria is now studying English and History in University of Limerick.

EXCELLENCE IN AGRICULTURAL SCIENCE – based on   the Leaving Certificate results 2012 was awarded  to Ciara Coughlan . Ciara’s teacher Ms Ann Marie Brennan presented Ciara with her award. Ciara is now studying Nursing and her Agricultural Science project was marked out for special recognition.

EXCELLENCE IN ENGLISH- based on the Leaving Certificate of 2012 saw the award going  to  Claire Kelly . Claire who is now studying Social Science at  UCD  was presented  with her award  by her  teacher Mr  Fran Mulhall.

EXCELLENCE IN ENGINEERING AWARD – based on Leaving Certificate results 2012 went to Michael Kenny. Michael who is currently studying at Gurteen Agricultural College was presented with his award by  his teacher  Mr Ciaran Doyle.

EXCELLENCE IN  CONSTRUCTION  STUDIES –  criteria being based onLeaving Certificate results 2012 went jointly to Ryan Delaney and Ruaidhri Doolan. Mr Micheal Mac Cartain,their  teacher, presented Ryan and Ruaidhri with their awards..

STUDIES , D   and C  GRAPHICS, MATHEMATICS and GAEILGE]went to Ruaidhri Doolan whose special achievement in all four subjects was recognised ,with Ms Stacy Sullivan, Head of Maths Department  and Ruaidhri’s teacher, presenting the award to Ruaidhri.

JOHN SUGRUE MEMORIAL CUP FOR ART- the award is based on best Leaving Cert results and imagination , willingness to learn and participation in class. Mairead Maher was the winner and  Ms Michelle Sugrue on behalf of  the Sugruefamily presented Mairead with  the memorial cup. Mairead is currently studying Design and Communication Graphics at
Athlone IT.Gallen  CS is very grateful to the Sugrue family  for their  on-going support of the school.

BOARD OF MANAGEMENT SCHOLARSHIP- The recipient for scholarship worth €500 was Ryan Delaney  from Pullough. Ryan was a worthy winner whose constant hard work and  commitment to his studies paid off with Ryan achieving an excellent Leaving Certificate of 520 points. Ryan is studying Physical Education and Maths in UL and we wish him continued success.

CLUNY SCHOLARSHIP-This scholarship was initiated five years ago to recognise the students who achieved the highest Leaving Certificate results. This year  Ruaidhri Doolan is the worthy winner of this award and cheque to the value of €1000, having  achieved 565 points  in his Leaving Certificate His citation referred not only to his excellent work ethic over the last two years but his friendliness to others and leadership whether on rugby field, on the stage and in the classroom. Ruaidhri is studying Actuarial Science in  UCD and we wish him every success in the future.

Mr Frank Kearns then gave the concluding address and in an excellent and thought provoking speech he referred to the need for students to always strive for academicexcellence and not to be modest about their achievements but to show leadership and ownership of learning in trying to achieve their learning goals. He alluded to the fact that students should  not hide their academic ability but seek to develop it as students do in sports and other areas. He spoke of  the ethos of learning in Gallen CS and academic study is an investment in each student’s future. Mr Kearns  mentioned that Gallen  CS  Leaving Cert class of 2012 had gone on to further  study at 10  different 3 rd. level institutions , proof of the diversity of student achievement in Gallen CS. He thanked Co Offaly VEC and the Cluny Order for their scholarships. Mr Irwin concluded the night by thanking everyone who had worked so hard to make the night such a success , particularlyMrs Evelyn Breen and Mrs Ursula Finnegan . The night concluded with some light refreshments and  a chance to talk among past students, colleagues and friends.

Photos will be posted in our Gallery Section of the website.