090 64 53600

School Principal
Mr. Garrett Buckley
Deputy Principal

Ms. Stacey Guinan


On the 26th of  November  Gallen CS  took on Athlone CC  in  the final of the Connacht Junior League  Cup  Final in Ballyhaunis  Co  Mayo.The first half started off with Gallen   kicking off to Athlone CC. Gallen  defended brilliantly  with  Clive Keena stopping Athlone CC   full back in his tracks with a very well timed tackle. Gallen were awarded a penalty which Sean Flynn kicked to the corner to put Gallen in a very good attacking position. The first half saw errors by both sides who were understandably nervous on the occasion. This saw penalties being conceded by both sides. Gallen eventually found their feet and the Gallen backs began to make some decisive and threatening attacking plays which put Athlone CC under pressure.Athlone  came  back into the  game and some  great tackling   by  Aaron o  Reilly ,  Jamie  Kelly and  Lorcan  Daly as well as  some  defensive  clearances  by Sean  Flynn stopped  Athlone CC   going ahead.Athlone CC   missed a penalty on the  call of half time leaving  it scoreless at the  break.Athlone CC began the second half brightly, pinning Gallen CS   in their own half but Gallen held strong with Aaron o Reilly once again to the fore in making tackles.

After a great  run through the  Athlone CC   defence   by Luke  Gavin Mangan ,  Gallen were awarded a penalty which David  Nally slotted over to give Gallen a 3-0 lead. Athlone hit  back and their pressure was rewarded when their number 2  crashed over for a   try  converted  by their  number 12 , leaving the score Gallen  CS  3  Athlone  CC 7. Aaron O  Reilly  made a great run for  Gallen and earned  them a penalty which  David Nally  put over to reduce the margin to one point ,  Gallen 6  Athlone CC 7. Gallen   then got the decisive match winning score when a great run by Sean Flynn lead to a pass to full back    Nathan Poland who dived over for the try.  Gallen were now in front and showed great courage and determination with Nathan Poland coming close to a score on another occasion.  Gallen held on to   take the league   crown.

Gallen C.S  Team was -Ruairi  Carroll ,  Griffin  Dunican ,  David  Gavin , Sean Ibbotson ,  Aaron  o Reilly, Conor  Kenny ,  Lorcan  Daly ,  Ethan  Rowe mc  Cormack ,  Max Feehan ,  Sean  Flynn,  Clive Keena ,  Jamie  Kelly,  Luke  Gavin Mangan,  David  Nally  and  Nathan Poland.  Subs –  Jason Tully,  Lorcan  Buckley ,  Oliver  Cusack ,  Javier  Diaz.   Manager – Mr Steven McGrath.