090 64 53600

School Principal
Mr. Garrett Buckley
Deputy Principal

Ms. Stacey Guinan

Gallen CS News Updates AWARDS NIGHT 2013

Gallen  C.S  annual awards  ceremony was held in the school  on    Friday  night  last and the evening was enriched  by the  presence of Guest of  Honour,  Mr  Mark  Rohan, Paralympic and World  Champion  Handcyclist.   Mrs Ursula Finnegan , Deputy  Principal  opened proceedings as she said this evening was about Gallen CS   recognising and awarding the academic and personal achievements of its students  and was very happy to welcome BOM members, parents/guardians, fellow staff and students.She welcomed  Mark  Rohan  to the school and  described  Mark as being the epitome of tenacity, hard work  and purpose in achieving his successes, someone that is an example for us all to follow. Mr Frank  Kearns  Chairperson of  Gallen  CS  Board of  Management  welcomed  Mark  Rohan and spoke of the  ethos of hard work that is needed to achieve success in  any sphere.  He wished continued success to all the recipients of awards.

 It was then time to begin the   presentation of awards with a nice feature of the awards being the personal citations before each award was presented.

 First  Year  Winners-  with the  Criteria  being best results in 7   subjects at  Higher level in the  Summer   Tests  were  Sarah  Murphy[  St  Cynoc’s]  Tara  Dunican [  St Ciaran’s] and  Michael  Wren  [  St  Oenna’s].  The awards were presented by Mrs Margaret Healy, Chairperson of the Parents Association.

 Second  Year  Winners-with the  criteria  being    best results in 7  subjects at  higher level  in the  Summer Tests were Emma Dolan [  St  Mels] ,  Adrian Hynes [ St Patricks] and Laura  Devery [  St  Brigids]. The awards were presented by Mrs   Mary Mc Loughlin, Board of Management.

 Junior  Certificate  Merit  Awards- the winners were Roisin  Egan ,  Eimear  Flynn,  Rachel  Hanniffy and Ellie  Mc  Evoy with the awards being presented  by  Mr  Mark  Rohan  and  Mrs  Ursula  Finnegan.

Medallion  Award 2013 : Criteria is the  best results in 10  subjects at  Higher level in the  Junior  Cert . The 2013 went to Tara Flynn  with Mr  Mark  Rohan and Mrs  Ursula Finnegan presenting Tara with her award.

 Fifth Year  Winners-   with the  criteria  being  best  results in six subjects at  higher level in  Summer tests 2013  were Matthew  Murphy , Stephen  Mannion and  Ailbhe  Doolan.Mr  Frank  Kearns presented the awards.

 Co. Offaly Gaeltacht Scholarships– with the award  based on  Irish  Department criteria went to  Niamh  Kenny ,  Stephen Mannion and Laura  Devery .  Mr  Eamon  Dooley  presented the awards.

 Co. Offaly Euro Language Scholarships  with the  award  based on  French  Department  criteria went to  Matthew  Murphy.  Mr Eamon  Dooley presented the award.

 GALLEN  C.S B.O.MGaeltacht Scholarships  – went to  Noelle  Egan and  Mr  Frank  Kearns presented the award to  Noelle. Noelle was also student of the course in the Gaeltacht this year

 It  was then time to  present the  Gaisce  Awards where students   learn  a  new  skill , take on  a physical  challenge and help their local  community. Ms  Aoife  Kelly  deserves  commendation  for  promoting and implementing the  Gaisce  Awards in our  school and it was fitting that she  with the  help of  Mr  Mark  Rohan , presented students with their   certificates and medals. IT is great to see students following  their efforts on TY to continue to strive for Silver Gaisce Awards in fifth year and Mark Rohan commented on this and urged these students to strive for Gold over the next year or two.

Silver Award Recipients were, Ciara  Casey,  Ailbhe  Doolan,   Ruth  Hennessy ,  Laura  Keena ,  Michelle  Keena,  Niamh  Kenny ,  Niamh  Larkin,  Ashling o  Shea and  Laura Phelan.

 Bronze Award Recipients were Chloe  Cahill,  Celine  Camon , Alisha Daly ,  Amy  Dunican,  Chloe  Egan ,  Joseph  Egan,  Ashling  Grogan ,  Catherine  Guinan,  Hazel Hackett,  Niall Higgins,  Dean  Hogan ,  Sean  Hynes,  Laura  Keenan,   Conor  Kelly,  Colin  Kenny,  Conor  Kenny,  James Lowry,  Michelle  Lyons ,  Brian mc Evoy ,  Ronan mc Evoy,  Tommy Molloy , Kevin Nugent, Michael o  Shea,  Donal  Ryan ,  Anthony Seery and Jarlath Stevenson.

 Academic  excellence at  Leaving Certificate level in 2013

Excellence in  Home  Economics  Award went to Laura  Dolan.

 Excellence in Agricultural  Science Award went to  Eoghan Hennessy.

 Excellence in  German  Award  went to  Jennifer Krock.

 Excellence in  Music  Awards  went to  Chloe  Flynn and   Clare  Anne  Kearns .

 Excellence in  Construction  Studies  Award went to Keith  Hamilton  whose  teacher Mr  Michael   Mac Cartain displayed Keith’s beautiful crafted table on the night.

 Excellence in  Biology Award  went to  Laura  Dolan  .

The  John  Sugrue  Memorial  Cup  For  Art  with the  criteria based on  best Leaving  Certificate Result and imagination , willingness to learn and participation in   class went to  Chloe  Flynn who was presented with the  cup  by  Mr  Frank  Owen   Sugrue. Frank spoke with fondness about his days in Ferbane and said that John also really enjoyed his time in school and that their family love to see Johns memory remembered each year on Awards night. Gallen  CS   wishes to  thank the  Sugrue   family for their continued support.

 Leaving  Certificate  Commendation  Award  given  to the  student[s] who received the highest  Leaving  Certificate Results went to  Laura  Dolan and Clare Anne  Kearns with the awards presented by  Mr  John Irwin and Mr  Mark  Rohan.

 With the  Awards  presentations  finished it was then time  for  Guest of  Honour  Mr  Mark  Rohan  to  say a few words.  In  a  riveting and inspiring  speech  which those present  were privileged to  hear ,  Mark   congratulated all those who  had won awards and paid tribute to the role  played by their parents. He spoke of the need to  motivate yourself,  to  have the  courage  to look  into yourself  and ask ” how  can I  improve?.”Mark   stressed that you  must  be  honest  with  yourself  and have the  courage to  reach out and work  hard  to   achieve your  goal.  Mark  asked those present  to  make the most of your opportunities and learn from other  people in the quest for self-improvement. In  a memorable and heartfelt speech  full of witty anecdotes about his schooldays  Mark  concluded by  reminding everyone of the importance of  family  support and  concluded by  wishing our  students  continued success.

 Mr  John  Irwin thanked  Mark   for  his presence on the  night and  said that   the  way in  which   Mark   prepared , planned and  powered  his   way to  glory in London  2012 was an inspiration and an example for all to follow. Mr  Irwin  also  thanked all those who  had worked so  hard to  make the  evening such an enjoyable success particularly  referencing the work of  Mrs  Ursula  Finnegan and  Mrs Evelyn Breen.

 A most  enjoyable  night  concluded with the  customary  refreshments.