090 64 53600

School Principal
Mr. Garrett Buckley
Deputy Principal

Ms. Stacey Guinan

Gallen CS News Updates February 6th 2017


Hard luck to our Senior football team who lost our on Saturday by the smallest of margins to Dunshaughlin of Meath in the North Leinster Final . Both teams were competitive and gave it their all . Though  we questioned some of the decisions during the game  we wish Dunshauglin the best of luck in the next round .

The boys were greatly supported by their families friends and teachers who are immensely proud of the manner in which they played and entertained us over the last few months. Thanks to Ferbane GAA and Brian Flynn for their support and  a special thanks to Ger Lynam, Conor Clancy, Georgie Digan and Fran Mulhall for all their  hard work, leadership, mentoring and commitment given to these lads over the last few years. We have great heart and spirit in Gallen C.S and onwards and upwards we go !


After their narrow loss against cup favourites Garbally in the previous Group match our Junior Rugby team under the tutelage of Mr Mc Grath travelled to Galway city where they had an excellent 12-7 win over traditional rugby kingpins The Bish.

Cathal Flynn scored 2 tries and a Conversion to give Gallen a 12-0 lead before Bish scored a try and conversion to leave the final score Gallen CS 12 Bish 7.

PANEL – Conor Poland , Deema Feehan, Adam Fletcher , Calvin Fox Keena, Ronan mc Donagh, Dean Buckley , Adam Reams , Bill Egan , Marcus Keena , Cathal Flynn, Dawson Maher , Jack Buckley, Harry Balsiger , Daragh Kieran Flynn , Luke Balsiger, Kieran Hurd, Alex Perez,Ben Egan, Dylan mc Evoy, Colin Egan , Cailum Woods, Enda Coughlan, Nick Cusack ,Nathan Yildiz.


Gallen Cs 10 Sligo Grammar 13

Another valiant performance saw our lads fall just short of traditionally strong Sligo Grammar. Sligo Grammar took the lead with a penalty and conversion to lead 7-0 before Harry Balsiger scored an unconverted try to make it 7-5.Sligo hit back with 2 penalties to lead13-5 before Harry Balsiger’s  second try left the final score 13-10.

The lads play their final group match v Roscommon CBS in 2 weeks.


1st year girls results:

Gallen CS 54 Borrisokane CC 20

Gallen CS 13 Moate CS 19

Panel- Suzanne Jordan, Emma Cahill,Aimee mc Kenna, Moya Guinan,Mollie Flynn,Emma Moore ,Alannah Rosney,Katie Flynn,Claudia Egan,Moya Ibbotson-,Roisin Mannion and Orla Hynes.

2nd year girls results:

Gallen Cs 30 Borrisokane CC 32

Gallen Cs 25 Moate Cs 6

Panel- Nicole Buckley,Zoe Tighe ,Jenny Arnold,Lauren Monaghan,Chloe Healy, Chloe Daly,Aoibhe Kelly,Amber Poland,Kira Hackett,Jenny Darcy,Katie Newman,Megan Murray, Rosanna Egan, Rachel Bracken

Coach of both teams is Ms Aoife Kelly.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *