090 64 53600

School Principal
Mr. Garrett Buckley
Deputy Principal

Ms. Stacey Guinan

Golf Classic for Autism – a great success !

There was a wonderful turnout on Friday 22nd  June  in Birr Golf Club  for the Third Annual Golf Classic organised between Gallen CS Ferbane and Ballinamere National School to raise funds for the Autistic  Centres in our schools. Twenty nine teams  played on the day  starting from 8.30 a.m.  and the last team came in at 9 p.m. Battling strong winds on the course , the teams were glad to see the 11th Tee where staff from  Emma’s  Café  Birr  had a  barbecued  burger  and  drink ready for all the golfers. The back 9 holes continued to prove  a tough  challenge in the windy but dry conditions as the teams drew near the Clubhouse. 

All team scores were carefully scrutinised and the winners were announced with presentations by Mr Irwin in the Clubhouse at 10p.m.  Mr Irwin thanked everybody for their tremendous support on the day and spoke about how the money raised will be halved between the two schools and will be used to meet the costs  for  students to access occupational and speech therapy services which they need. John also thanked all our sponsors who were listed in the clubhouse and on individual Tees. He thanked Adrian and Debbie from Emma’s Café Birr for their sponsorship of the Barbecue on the 11th and finally he thanked Francie Horan , Seamus O Brien (Captain of Birr Golf club ) and Vera Smith (Ladies Captain)  for their assistance in helping to make the day a great success.

List of Winners:

First: Seamus Breen, Matt Feenane, Tom Murtagh and Conor Nolan- Lamps from Barbers Jewellers

Second: Gemma Butler, Vera Smith, Sue Reidy and Shauna Carroll- Galway Crystal Vases

Third: Frank Kearns, Paschal Troy, Caroline McCarthy and Joe Slevin- Golf Voucher Carton House

Fourth: John Grehan, Michael Grehan, Tom Wright and Tim Kenny- Golf Voucher Glasson

Fifth: Mike Lowry, Eamon Lowry, James Hamill, Thady Clancy- Golf Voucher Esker Hills.

Sixth: Greg Odd, Tony Ayres, Shane Molloy and Derek Molloy – O Neills Offaly Polo Shirts

Seventh: Shane Flaherty, Ian Folan, Dermot Timlin and Gareth Caulfield – Cross Pens & Diary


Raffle Winners

  1. Sean  McCann- Voucher B&B Wine Port Glasson
  2. Adrian Shine – Hamper
  3. Francie Horan – Voucher 6 months membership gym in Bridge House Tullamore
  4. Thady Clancy –  Voucher for Old Fort Restaurant.
  5. Christy McGarry – Bottle of Vodka
  6. Paddy Greal ly – Cosmetic set
  7. Dolores Molloy- Pottery  Crock
  8. Adrian Shine –   Cosmetic Set.